Please check http://www.sjcc.edu/current-students/on-campus-resources/admissions-and-records-office/fees-refunds for the current fees schedule.
Checks or Money Orders should be made payable to San José/Evergreen Community College District (SJ/ECCD). The colleges also accept Visa and Master-card.
All students who meet California residency status will be required to pay enrollment fees of $46 per unit.1
All fees are subject to change according to changes in the California Educational Code and the State Legislature. All information relative to enrollment fees and health fees is subject to change as mandated by the California Community College Board of Governors and California law.
Student ID Card
All students will be issued a basic photo ID card at no cost. The ID card is acceptable for access to the college libraries, Health Services, and other services provided. Students should retain this card for future semesters. There is a replacement fee for a photo ID card. There are no exceptions to the replacement fee.
Student Activity Fee
Associated Students Government (ASG) stickers are required of students who use the Student Accounts Office for loans or scholarships, intercollegiate athletes and all officers of clubs and organizations. This money is used in support of various activities: emergency loans, book loans, athletics, recreation, and community and social welfare. This activity program is a college-wide enterprise. Its operation is not only of direct benefit to each student; it also furnishes an organized representation for all students in various college and community affairs and activities.
All students will be billed a $5 activities fee and issued an ASG sticker to be affixed to their student ID card. Refunds may be requested through Admissions & Records as described in the class schedule.
Student Representation Fee
Assembly Bill (AB) 1504, approved by the Governor October 4, 2019, amended Section 76060.5 of the Education Code to require a community college to collect a student representation fee of $2 at the time of registration. One dollar ($1) of every two-dollar ($2) fee collected shall be expended to support the Student Senate of the California Community Colleges (SSCCC), the statewide community college student organization recognized by the Board of Governors (BOG) of the California Community Colleges. The legislation is effective January 1, 2020.
Health Services Fee
All students are required to pay the $21 Health Services Fee at the time of registration for fall and spring classes. Effective Spring 2009 the BOGFW no longer waives the Health Services fee. The current $21 Health Services Fee is subject to change. Health Services Fees are mandatory with the following exceptions:
- Concurrently enrolled high school students with an approved R-40 and/or R-42 form on file.
- Indentured apprentices fulfilling related instruction requirements (proper documentation required).
- Students who are dependent exclusively upon prayer for healing, in accordance with teachings of a bona fide religious sect, denomination, or organization (proper documentation required).
- Students enrolled only for classes meeting off-campus.
- Students taking Friday evening, Saturday or Sunday classes only.
- Students taking short-term classes that meet on campus seven times or less.
Requests for waiver or refund of Health Services fee are made at Admissions & Records. These requests should be made at the beginning of each semester.
Non-Resident/International Student Tuition
Tuition for non-residents and international students effective Fall 2020 is $288 per unit. In addition, students must pay enrollment fees, the capital outlay fee of $2 per unit, and Student Activity and Student Health fees. Personal checks are not accepted for tuition. Payments must be made in cash, certified check, travelers’ checks, or Visa/Master Card.
Education Code section 68075.6 grants an immediate nonresident tuition fee exemption to eligible Special Immigrant Visa (SIV) holders and refugee students who settled in California upon entering the United States. This exemption is granted for one year from the date the student settled in California upon entering the United States.
This exemption applies to the following:
- Iraqi citizens or nationals (and their spouses and children) who were employed by or on behalf of the United States Government in Iraq (Pub.L. No. 110-181, §1244)
- Afghan and Iraqi translators (and their spouses and children) who worked directly with the United States Armed Forces (Pub.L. No. 109-163, § 1059)
- Afghanistan nationals who were employed by or on behalf of the U.S. government or in the International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) in Afghanistan (Pub.L. No. 111-8, § 602)
- Refugee students admitted to the United States under Section 1157 of Title 8 of the United States Code.
International Student Health Fee
For the 2020-2021 Academic School Year, international students shall pay the international health fee for the Fall in the amount of $592.50 and for the Spring semester in the amount of $829.50. Each academic year the fee will be adjusted based upon the negotiated rate.
Class Materials Fee
Some classes require a materials fee. Please check the individual course offerings for the amount required. This fee is payable at registration. The Division Dean may provide a waiver for students who wish to provide their own materials.
- $45 for Fall or Spring Semester permit for automobiles
- $25 for Fall or Spring Semester BOGFW recipients
- $15 for Fall or Spring Semester for Motorcycle permit
- $35 for Fall or Spring Carpool Semester permit
- $10 for Summer Semester permit for Automobiles
- $5 for Summer Semester permit for Motorcycles
- $3 DAY permit
Records Fees Transcripts
Charge for Transcripts or Verification of Student Records
A student/former student shall be entitled to two free copies of the transcript of his/her record or to two free verifications of various student records. Additional copies shall be made available to the student, or to an addressee designated by him/her. For current rates, please see each respective college catalog. Students may request special processing of a transcript. (AP 5040)
|Type of Transcript||Cost|
|Regular Unofficial (7-10 working days to process):||$4 per copy|
|Regular Official (7-10 working days to process):||$4 per copy|
|Rush Official (24 hours to process):||$10 per copy|
Transcript Fees are subject to change
Students are provided with a free copy of their current semester schedule at the time of registration and when classes are added; thereafter, a fee will be assessed per copy.
General Education Certification or the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum (IGETC) Certification
Upon request, students are provided with two free copies of their General Education Certification or the IGETC; thereafter, there will be a fee per copy.
Transit Fee - VTA ECO Pass
Valley Transportation Authority (VTA) Eco Pass Clipper Card is here!
Effective Fall semester 2016, a personalized VTA Eco Pass Clipper Card (Eco Pass) will be available to all registered San José City College students. This gives SJCC students the opportunity to utilize affordable public transportation on the VTA Bus and VTA Light Rail systems. The Eco Pass can only be used on the VTA Bus and VTA Light Rail systems within Santa Clara County.
SJCC Student ID cards are separate from the Eco Pass. Both cards are available at the Welcome Center in the Student Center.
Students can receive the Eco Pass for each enrolled semester. If a student is enrolled for the Fall semester, the Eco Pass is valid for the Fall semester through Intersession. Students enrolled in the Spring semester have Eco Pass use through the Spring semester and Summer session
The Eco Pass fee will be charged automatically upon student enrollment.
Students enrolled half-time or more (6.0 units or more): $11.00 per semester
Students enrolled less than half-time (less than 6.0 units): $6.50 per semester
For more information please visit: http://www.sjcc.edu/FinancialAid/Documents/Frequently%20Asked%20Eco%20Pass%20Questions.pdf
Verification of Enrollment
Upon request, students are provided with two copies of their official verifications of enrollment free of charge; thereafter, there is a $4 fee per copy.
- Students may submit a Board of Governors Fee Waiver (BOGW) application to the Financial Aid Office. Eligibility is determined by income and household size. Students may also submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) to determine eligibility for the BOGFW.
- The BOGFW is valid for one academic year (Summer, Fall, and Spring).
- Indentured apprentices fulfilling related instruction are exempt from enrollment, health fees, and nonresident tuition for apprentice-related classes.
- Students may be eligible to have their college fees reimbursed by their employer. Students are advised to contact a Human Resources representative at their place of work. The college will not send a bill to the student's place of work and does not accept second party checks.
- California resident high school students taking classes for high school credit and/or college credit will NOT be required to pay enrollment and health fees.
- Non-resident high school students taking courses for college credit are not exempt from the non-resident tuition.
Refund of Fees
Any student eligible for and requesting a refund of enrollment fees will be refunded any material fee associated with the class.
Students who drop classes before a specified deadline (see Academic Calendar) are entitled to a fee refund for those courses. Refunds of fees are not automatic.
Students must complete and submit the Refund Request form to Admissions and Records by the appropriate deadlines. Deadlines are published in the Schedule of Classes each semester. Fees may not be transferred or credited from one semester/session to another. Refunds for the AS sticker require that the sticker be returned with the refund form.
Fees for classes dropped after the refund deadline cannot be applied to any additional classes added to the student’s schedule. Instead, the student will be charged per unit enrollment fee and/or per unit fee for non-resident tuition. Students who officially add a class after the refund deadline date are not entitled to a refund.
No refunds of any type will be granted until all other financial obligations to the District have been satisfied. Refunds normally take 6 to 8 weeks after the deadline to process; they are mailed to the student.
Students may choose to donate refunds to the District Foundation for student scholarships or college support. Such donations are tax deductible.
Refunds will be made in full for the qualifying amount, minus the $10 processing fee. Processing fees related to refund requests are limited to enrollment fees only.
- Short Term Credit and Irregularly Scheduled Courses (not 16 week, or late-starting courses): upon written request, refunds for Short Term Credit courses (those that are scheduled to meet fewer than five days) and Irregularly Scheduled Credit courses (those that generally begin after the official start date of the term), will be granted if the student officially drops AND submits the completed refund request form to Admissions and Records on or before 10% of the class meeting times has elapsed. Completed refund requests must be received in A&R on or before the 2nd meeting of the class.
- Students may request in writing a refund for a canceled class any time during the semester/session in which the class was canceled. There is no processing fee for classes that were cancelled.
- Processing Timeline for Refunds: The refund process usually begins the week following the refund deadline and takes approximately 6 to 8 weeks to be processed and mailed to the student.
Parking Fees Refund
Refunds will be made in accordance with the refund policy of the District within the first ten (10) days of instruction of each semester under the following conditions:
- Applicant completes a “Request for Refund” form, available at Admissions and Records Offices.
- Refunds are allowed when classes are dropped or canceled.
- The issued parking permit is returned to Admissions and Records Offices with the refund request.
There is a $3 Parking Permit refund processing fee.
A processing fee of $10 is charged for each returned check.
See also Board Policy 5030, Fees, Administrative Procedure 5030, Fees, and, Administrative Procedure 5031, Instructional Materials.